Hermannhof Winery‘s ten magnificent stone cellars and charming brick superstructure are among the 100 early Hermann Missouri buildings placed on the National Register of Historic places by the Federal government. Construction of a brewery/winery commenced in 1848 and was completed in 1852 in the French section of Hermann.
Hermannhof’s wine making was initially a small part of this very successful brewery. By 1904, the Hermann area produced 3 million gallons of wine, most of which were produced by small wine growers, many of whom utilized the facilities of Hermannhof. Prohibition began a forced long sleep for Hermann with the vineyards being uprooted and the equipment destroyed or sold to Europeans.
In 1974, the Hermannhof Cellars were purchased by the Dierberg family and renewal began.
Today, all the cellars are utilized in premium wine production of 15,000 cases. These historic cellars contain casks made from white oak from the forests of France and Missouri. Here the wine continues to improve with age until it is dispatched to bring joy and sunshine to connoisseurs. Other cellars are employed in the making of sparkling wine in the original “méthode champenoise”.